In search of the perfect macaron – Part II

Chocolate macarons

Chocolate and salted caramels macarons

Not an easy journey really, the search for the perfect macaron. A tasty one? Most certainly, but filled with frustration at cracked domes, no feet, not holding the colour, not rising, too dry, undercooked, you name it!

So, last weekend I decided to have another go. I googled various chocolate macaron recipes and stumbled upon a little tutorial by Paris-based pastry chef David Lebovitz. I have been reading his website a lot as I’m planning a short trip to Paris next month and he has amazing knowledge on where to get the good stuff, i.e. patisseries.

So, I followed his instructions, although I let them sit for half an hour or before I put them in the oven. And ‘lo and behold, they came out looking beautiful!!!

I made a lovely salted caramel buttercream to fill them with and one of my friends stated they were ‘just like the ones from the posh shop’. She means Pierre Hermé. Well, probably not *that* good, but they were pretty tasty.

I will use this recipe again and see if I can adjust it for non-chocolate macarons. I just need to find a way to keep any colours looking vibrant as so far all my coloured macarons have gone all pale, despite them looking bordering on neon in the mixer…

So, I’m overall pretty pleased with the result and I found that piping the filling makes them look even prettier!

 

Leave a Reply

