Week word: Treat

image

Marble cake treat

So, I’ve joined in a Week word. This week it’s hosted by the lovely Jen over on Timballoo. I’m new to it, but here goes.

For me, a treat is usually food-related. I have treats too often, as evidenced by my waistline, or lack thereof. But hey, it’s tasty right?

Last week I hosted a network meeting at work and as I like playing host, I made cake and biscuits. The cake was amazing and went down a treat (boom tish). It was Peyton and Byrne’s Marble Cake with white chocolate icing. It was bloomin’ delicious and has kept really well. The white chocolate icing melts quite quickly, so it’s best kept in the fridge.

The recipe I found online and do try it. I’ve always used the recipe my mum always used, but I often found it too dry. The Peyton and Byrne recipe has yogurt in it, which keeps it from going dry (I refuse to use the word ‘moist’),

The recipe:

For the cake:
170g self-raising flour (I used GF self-raising flour and that worked well)
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
125g unsalted butter
1/2 tsp salt
200g caster sugar
3 large free-range eggs
1tsp vanilla extract
150g plain yoghurt
40g cocoa powder
1/2 tsp salt

For the white chocolate icing:
75g good white chocolate
150g icing sugar
2tbsp milk

1. Butter and line a 900g loaf tin. Or do what I do: butter the tin and coat it with flour, work a treat! Pre-heat oven to 180oC.
2. Sift together the flour and bicarb. In a separate bowl, mix the sugar, butter and salt. Add in the vanilla and the eggs one at a time, beating into the mix.
3. Add half of the flour mix, then half of the yogurt, then the rest of the flour, and finally the last of the yoghurt. Give it a final mix.
4. Separate a third of the batter. Whisk 40g cocoa with 60ml boiling water to form a thick paste, then add into the separated third, folding it through.
5. Spoon dollops of the batter into the tin, alternating the two batters (see picture). I ended up with three layers of this. Drag a knife through the batter in a swirling motion, but not too much or you’ll ruin the marble effect.

6. Bake for 45-55 mins until springy to the touch. Cool.
7. To make the icing, melt the chocolate and add into a mix of the icing sugar and 2tbsp milk (already combined). Whisk until smooth and pour over the cake immediately. Although I personally prefer the ganache to be a bit thicker so it covers better, but that’s just me…
For more Week words, head over to Timballoo and The Gift Shed.
2 thoughts on “Week word: Treat

Leave a Reply

